MY DARLING FRIEND

If it ever happens to you that someone you know you love is about to walk out of your life and maybe leave you forever, don’t let the misunderstanding ensue.  Don’t let the mistake become permanent and unresolved.  Don’t let opportunity slip out of your fingers and hands.  Don’t let pride or subbornness get the better of you.  Let contrition, forgiveness, humility be the angels of your better nature.  Just don’t let love slip away.  Do what I say to do in this poem of mine.  And damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

 

MY DARLING FRIEND
 
I should write such words down in the sand,
And carve them in the depth of a tree.
Then call them to the stars high above,
And scream them to the waves out at sea!
 
They’re for every time I was remiss,
And everyday I forgot to say,
Ah, such words every heart needs to hear
That not even a kiss can convey!
 
But now you have journeyed far away,
And I am waiting when you’ll return,
To hear the words I had failed to speak
From which the silence can never learn.
 
Oh, how I pray for the coming morn
That I will awake and find you here.
Now saying the words I should have said
And have told the whole world everywhere!–
 
Ah, I love you, my sweet darling friend!
As the earth and the sand love the sea.
Ah, I love you more than life itself,
And as I know you’ve always loved me!
 
So come back to me, my darling friend,
And embrace this heart you know is true!
And speak these words to me from your lips…
“Ah, my darling friend, I love you too!”
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jasmineqmonnfc
    Sep 20, 2012 @ 19:54:15

    Reblogged this on Jasmine Monn Pages.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

