IN DREAMS: THE NEARBY SEA

If one could obtain the most potent and passionate component of love and make it his to own and cultivate I think it would be one path to happiness he and no one else would refuse.  It’s a complicated thing and not an ordinary thing; and it’s a spiritual thing, too.  But I tried to make it as simple and understandable as possible in this poem.  Most of all, my effort here was to show it as being the very passionate thing it is.  You may not agree, but I hope at least you will enjoy my passionate sea poem here.

IN DREAMS: THE NEARBY SEA
 
Just one atom of cosmic power from God
Could confer some happiness on me again.
My empty dreams would no longer grope and plod
And one cold night I might see you enter in.
For it would be a secret I tell no one,
Not even to the cold night or nearby sea.
And for just one cosmic atom from the sun
I’d promise God His secret was safe with me!
For were it only in dreams you came alive,
The nearby sea would again watch the sun shine,
And this life I could so much better survive,
Ah, if only one cosmic atom were mine!
 
For in dreams here do I desolately lie,
Praying one cosmic atom be brought to bear;
That God in His endless mercy might reply
And not ignore the stark impotence of prayer!
(Then I might again find you along my length
And we walking the nearby sea together,
Ah, then might my faith and hope become my strength
And believe again that life lives forever!)
But no, there’s no answer from the great beyond
Nor even one tiny cosmic atom sown.
The lonely nearby sea is my only bond,
And cold nights of love-sought dreams I dream alone.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Smrithi
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 01:39:19

    Is it not living a dream that makes happiness difficult, or having one?

    Reply

  2. nicepoethere
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 16:11:53

    Thank you, my dear, for reading so many of my blogs and for leaving all your many stimulating and friendly comments. I appreciate it very much. You’re a sweetheart and now, officially, my No. 1 Blog Fan! (:-D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

