OF VAMPIRES AND ANGELS

 

 

 

There are a lot of cosmic choices we have to make in life, and it’s not always easy.  But for some things I don’t think it’s so hard.  When it comes between good and evil and love and hate, for example. 

Here is a poem of mine that poetrically describes the kinds of choices I would make in such matters and what I would ultimately do.

–Patrick The Poet

 

OF VAMPIRES AND ANGELS

Sometimes we all need an ultimate challenge in our lives
And something to remind us why we live.
Thus, what more ultimate challenge be there
Than to choose between love and hate and goodness and evil?

So I wish any friend or stranger would come to me now
And ask me this first of two cosmic questions:
“Please tell me, fellow sage, what would you do
If ever your life should be beckoned by hate or evil?”

Well, my answer is clear: I would put a stake through his heart,
And stuff a clove of garlic in his mouth!
Then place a crucifix around his neck,
And then bury him facedown in a graveyard of the mind.

But ask me a better question of the two now at hand
And one that our lives deserve to answer!
“Please tell me, fellow sage, what would you do
If ever your life should be beckoned by love or goodness?”

Well, my answer is clear!–and as dear as hope, faith and truth!
I would summon salvation from her heart,
And know to bask in her eternity!
Then give my life to her in complete trust
(While thanking God and the angels above!)
And then lock her away inside the churchyard of my soul.

 

Leave a Reply

