THIS WEEK’S BAR QUOTES – (from 05-15-09)

Outstanding ones for this week. But isn’t that always the case!

Patrick

THIS WEEK’S BAR QUOTES – (from 05-15-09):

These are the times that try men’s souls. The summer soldier and the sunshine patriot will, in this crisis, shrink from the service of their country; but he that stands it now, deserves the love and thanks of man and woman.
–Thomas Paine

The arms we have been compelled by our enemies to assume we will, in defiance of every hazard, with unabating firmness and perseverance, employ for the preservation of our liberties being with one mind resolved to die free rather than live slaves.
–Thomas Jefferson

Face your deficiencies and acknowledge them; but do not let them master you. Let them teach you patience, sweetness, insight.
–Helen Keller

Are you missing opportunities because you are too focused on obstacles?
–Jeffrey Gitomer

Show me someone who has done something worthwhile, and I’ll show you someone who has overcome adversity.
–Lou Holtz

I never failed once. I invented the light bulb. It just happened to be a 2,000-step process.
–Thomas Edison

The history of the human race is the history of ordinary people who have overcome their fears and accomplished extraordinary things.
–Brian Tracy

Obstacles cannot crush me. Every obstacle yields to stern resolve. He who is fixed to a star does not change his mind.
–Leonardo da Vinci

Never apologize for showing feeling. When you do so, you apologize for the truth.
–Benjamin Disraeli

The door of success swings on the hinges of obstacles.
–Denis Waitley

Most people live and die with their music still unplayed. They never dare to try.
–Mary Kay Ash

Success is the best revenge.
–Michele Jolivette

Every time we are disturbed, no matter what the cause, there is something wrong with us. No matter how unreasonable others may seem, I am responsible for not reacting negatively. Regardless of what is happening around me I will always have the prerogative, and the responsibility, of choosing what happens within me. I am the creator of my own reality. When I [review my day], I know that I must stop judging others. If I judge others, I am probably judging myself. Whoever is upsetting me most is my best teacher. I have much to learn from him or her, and in my hearts, I should thank that person.
–Bill Wilson, “Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, p. 88”

If you have any young friends who aspire to become writers, the second greatest favor you can do for them is to present them with copies of ‘The Elements of Style’. The first greatest, of course, is to shoot them now, while they’re happy.
–Dorothy Parker (1893 – 1967), American writer and poet

Leave a comment