A LEGACY OF FLOWERS

FLOWERSLove and beauty go so well with colorful flowers and the softness they impart.  This poem is all about this and about a host of flowers that sometimes love leaves behind as a legacy to visit you each and every year after it is forever gone.

Patrick The Poet

A LEGACY OF FLOWERS
 
This infinite day has been lonely for far too long,
And somewhere I see you where the past never settles.
In granules of beauty which time cannot turn out wrong–
Nor days when I kissed your lips as soft as rose petals.
 
But somewhere in time days turned into years long gone,
In this place where we lived amidst sown valleys and hills.
In vast, vivid colors was my heart nurtured and drawn,
Come every spring in roses, tulips and daffodils!
 
Ah, they grow there now as they did long before I left;
As spring turns to summer and growth comes to every tree.
Still, your heart unfolds there, though my own has grown bereft–
Years ago that seem like days when death stole you from me.
 
No matter this, I know that somewhere beyond the grave,
Life lives, and my heart is a legacy of flowers.
Brimming amidst all the love we ever shared and gave,
Beyond this time on earth that unfolds like mere hours!
 
I still live among roses, tulips and daffodils–
The alchemy of gold and other precious metals.
For soon, someday, I shall dwell among valleys and hills,
In a garden…kissing lips as soft as rose petals!
Leave a Reply

