THIS WEEK’S BAR QUOTES – (from 11-13-09)

Lots of funny quotes in this week’s post…to get you ready for gobble, gobble day!

Patrick The Poet

THIS WEEK’S BAR QUOTES – (from 11-13-09)

I should not talk so much about myself if there were anybody else whom I knew as well.
–Henry David Thoreau

I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.
–Douglas Adams (1952-2001)

A great man, if he cannot leave his fame behind for 1,000 years, should [try to] leave his stinking repute behind for 10,000 years.
–Huan Wen (312-373)

I think there is a world market for maybe five computers.
–Thomas Watson (1874-1956), Chairman of IBM, 1943

I think it would be a good idea.
–Mahatma Gandhi (1869-1948), when asked what he thought of Western civilization

The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
–Edmund Burke (1729-1797)

I’m not a member of any organized political party, I’m a Democrat!
–Will Rogers (1879-1935)

If stupidity got us into this mess, then why can’t it get us out?
–Will Rogers (1879-1935)

Democracy does not guarantee equality of conditions – it only guarantees equality of opportunity.
–Irving Kristol

There is no reason anyone would want a computer in their home.
–Ken Olson, president, chairman and founder of Digital Equipment Corp., 1977

The concept is interesting and well-formed, but in order to earn better than a ‘C’, the idea must be feasible.
– A Yale University management professor in response to student Fred Smith’s paper proposing reliable overnight delivery service (Smith went on to found Federal Express Corp.)

Who the hell wants to hear actors talk?
–H. M. Warner (1881-1958), founder of Warner Brothers, in 1927

Everything that can be invented has been invented.
–Charles H. Duell, Commissioner, U.S. Office of Patents, 1899

Denial ain’t just a river in Egypt!
–Mark Twain (1835-1910)

Leave a Reply

