EXHORTATION

Free Christian photos,religious pictures, Jesus images,christmas ...

I missed the holidays that were and the company of loved ones and special friends now gone.  I find this to be true for those still around among family and friends who celebrated as I several decades of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Eve.  The festive atmosphere, shimmering lights and decorations and hoopla for the holidays still hold some appeal.  But not like before.  And, as the years go on, the appeal wanes a little bit more each holiday season.  Tried as I have, it seems impossible to prevent this gradual feeling of ennui from setting in.  It appears to be as unavoidable as is the passage of time and growing age. 

I think the older we get the less appealing and less fun become the holidays is something that really begins to happen when we hit our fifties. For some, maybe during their forties.  This is because as the years go on we lose more and more loved ones and friends.  And so it is at this point in my life I don’t really celebrate the holidays.  I acknowledge them and still realize their importance and reverence.  But they’re more a fun and joy to younger people, in my opinion.  To us older folk, they become more and more bittersweet and continually rife with past memory.

The only decent advice I have to give is cherish the holidays that were and the better memory you can keep until the end.  Most of all, cherish those loved ones and friends now gone, and the ones still with you until the end!  Hopefully in a better way, my poem here will tell you what I mean.

Patrick The Poet

 

EXHORTATION

I will always feel love that is true and magnificent
And hear lovers repeat words that are well worth repeating,
(So it is with true friends who share every careful greeting);
And yet, though love is potent and happiness is well meant,
I would tell them to hold on to every precious moment,
For love is frail…and happiness is so very fleeting.

For I have felt the spark of hope and the sunlight beaming
Through the eons of life that selfishness and greed distort
(Which truth and wisdom often fail to repair or comfort);
And though there are those who dream of sunlight always gleaming,
I would tell them to hold on to every dream they’re dreaming,
For dreams are such fragile things…and life is so very short.

Leave a Reply

