DESERT LOYALTY

Sunny Desert Wallpapers, Sunny Desert Download, Sunny Desert Pictures

For the holiday season and the coming of hopefully a better year, this poem is dedicated to all my dearest friends and fellow true believers.

Patrick The Poet

 

DESERT LOYALTY
 
Once you found yourself alone…far from trust and paradise,
Bereft of all those you gave every ounce of loyalty to.
Though now these sands are harsh and hot–they are as cold as ice!
And rife with the rage of a world that has turned against you.
Yet time after time another promise has come along…
Heard from the lips of ardent friendships that swore to be true.
Instead, you were left to die…like silence murders a song,
Or as wind does over the sand…to leave the desert askew!
 
Then here upon this barren plain you happened upon me.
To find and save my life when I was at death’s very brink.
Still, though I humbly thanked you and swore eternal loyalty,
You no more believed me…though I wrote it in mortal ink!
Now over time and other lifetimes the desert has fed
More betrayal to you, and too much disdain of me, I think.
Still, I have waited years to be thirsting and almost dead…
Ah, to find water…and give you the first and only drink!

 

Leave a Reply

