TIMELESS TREASURE

Free land of love Wallpaper - Download The Free land of love Wallpaper ...

The path to happiness and enlightenment is paved in many lessons and mistakes.  It’s affected by choice and change as well as chance and time.  And sometimes endures a lot of pain and grief to reach the timeless treasure that is love and joy.

Patrick the Poet

 

TIMELESS TREASURE

There was nothing left to search for after I found you;
Nothing in the skies above me more lovely or true.
Besides, what more than happiness does one have to do?

Still, though I never learned it till it was too late,
That there are some things in life for which you have to wait,
Who knew love had to be a slave to fortune and fate?

So I awoke each brisk day to the breaking of dawn,
Hoarding the timeless treasure I had stumbled upon;
And yes, never knowing what I had till it was gone.

But oh, don’t be so quick to judge me and see me burn
In the pit of fiery ignorance one dares to earn!
Don’t you know there are things in life it takes time to learn?

And one of these is loyalty, another one is grace:
To see yourself in your lover’s eyes–to share her space,
And touch the wind in her hair…and the smile on her face!

Oh, we are all so certain from where lastingness springs.
And the permanency of love that youth always sings.
So judge me not–you, who knows little about these things!

We are young and foolish and see our lives enchanted,
Then take what the gods may give and the seeds they’ve planted,
While taking what should never be taken for granted.

Yet in the realm of love that stirs passion and romance,
Beyond the throes of fortune and fate and circumstance,
We can earn the timeless treasure of a second chance!

So this I will find again–for my heart is not old.
Though much in life that glitters–even hope–is not gold,
I know this we all can find–if our hearts remain bold!

So judge not one’s foolish youth that ended with a tear.
For the path to cherishing love is not always clear.
Though now I’m ready for a second chance to appear,
You should understand, it can take a while to get here.

Leave a Reply

