ONCE UPON A DAY

Wallpapers Sad Angel Free Screensavers 1024x768 | #367961 #sad

Sometimes this is what becomes of a life and of one’s dreams and love.

Patrick The Poet

 

ONCE UPON A DAY
 
Oh, once upon a day I used to believe in love.
In all the stars in heaven, and in heaven above.
That you would always love me and would forever stay.
(Till that day when love disowned me…when you went away.)
For once upon a day I had hoped for happiness.
That all the world and this were found in a lover’s kiss!
And thought you would live even after the end of time
(Till I wrote you a verse in a dirge that didn’t rhyme!)
It rhymes here, my love!–But it is a desolate one.
And as dark as the night when darkness shuts out the sun.
Still, I believed in sunlight, and in love, and in God
(And once upon a day by all these was stirred and awed!)
Till love came and vanished, and let darkness have its way.
And the truth spoke but lied, then had nothing more to say!
Then all my beliefs and all my hopes were tossed away.
(When your dirgeful life died, my love…once upon a day.)
Leave a Reply

