SAIL AWAY and EULOGY TO LOVE

LOST LOVE

 

I discovered David Gray in 2004, at a time of loss and sadness in my life.  This song here is one of the very first I heard by this remarkable singer/songwriter, and it almost became my favorite song ever.  It’s impassioned, poignant and sensitive–just like a great song should be.  Were it I could have sailed away with my one true love back then. 

But at least now and forever there’s this song to listen to, and this poem I wrote to accompany it…and her.

Patrick The Poet

 

LINK TO SONG:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MyGsXiKOVis

 

EULOGY TO LOVE

I fold my arms around you,
You slip into my embrace.
While the anguish of my tears
Seems mirrored upon your face.

So I imagine them there,
Like sunlight on rainy days;
My lips kissing memories,
Like sweet lies the truth betrays.

Still I savor one last kiss,
Then lift you into your grave.
One last kiss to court the past,
And the life love failed to save.

Gone is the warmth of your lips,
Gone the treasure of your breath.
And though everything is gone,
You are beautiful in death!

For a faint smile lines your face.
Sunlight lingers in your hair.
And though life seems present still,
It’s as lifeless as despair.

Were it I could steal away
And give even one more kiss.
Instead of embracing death,
And giving more tears to this!

Yet such are life’s memories
Death scars with tears and regret:
Too painful to remember.
Too beautiful to forget.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

