A SEAWARD DREAM

A SEAWARD DREAMPLEASE ENJOY & SHARE!

For those who enjoy romantic poetry, event poetry and even personalized biographical poems written for you or someone you love, my writing services are available.  And my fees are pretty low and affordable!  A slew of many writing services I offer in addition to personalized poetry.  Just drop me a note at my addy of marcelproust37@hotmail.com, and I’ll tell you all about it.  Meanwhile, here’s an epic romantic poem I wrote for those who believe in forever and know how it is to be kissed by love!

A SEAWARD DREAM
1
There are seaward dreams we dream at night and keep.
To help us live through now and the years ahead.
Dreams that come to us in waking time and sleep,
To stave us from the shore where darkness has fed,
Where we so foolishly chose to be misled.
Ah, were it not so impossible and strange,
I would travel through time and visit the past.
But only for one great thing to do and change:
To take all these griefs and pains time has amassed
And fix this lover’s destiny I had cast.
And there I would find you where I saw you last
(Though how frail had been your heart, I never knew!);
Then taking with me what I know, to the past,
Would I save your life–and then save my own, too.
And begin by simply saying, “I love you!”
Then would I take my time machine back to now
And once again find you where I knew you last,
Where both the present and future disavow
All the foolish mistakes we made in the past.
2
I would tell you the loneliness of being alone,
From the last person I loved who suddenly left me,
No doubt, to visit lands registered in rock and stone
To survive we who love the dark beauty of the sea!
For truly its emerald depths are dark and lovely
And as sadly disconcerting as clouds are to wind.
But still, I would join you in the huge depths of the sea
Since you too have been lonely and in need of a friend.
It might be I’ll save you, and then save myself as well.
And we might see salvation no one has ever seen!
Then perhaps we’ll find love–though it’s too early to tell,
Although we know this is what life is supposed to mean!
In fact, I may take your heart and hold it near to mine,
And together feel how the clouds brush against the wind!
And then when the seaward sun comes out once more to shine,
My lips may brush against yours…and call you more than friend.

 

Leave a Reply

