Everywhere I Go

LOVE13

You, who I used to love and still love and were forever with me for a short while, this poem is for you…

 

EVERYWHERE I GO

I’ll take you with me everywhere I go.
Through highway and byway, through rain and snow;
The scent of your hair, the smile on your face,
Though my arms are bare, I’ll feel your embrace!
For all that you are, is all that I know:
I’ll take you with me everywhere I go.

For you enwhelmed my heart when we first met,
You were love at first sight–I won’t forget!
I stroked your soul beneath my fingertips,
Then found my own answered by your soft lips!
And while our bodies conjoined together,
We swore our kindred lives to forever!

Then down through the years we traveled and went,
The time seemed rife for the time that we spent.
But this much I knew and would always know:
I’ll take you with me everywhere I go.
(Even though death was soon to stake its claim,
We knew what we knew–and love was its name!)

For what if time now moves so very slow
And the love we shared was so long ago?
So what if memories are all I sow
And the past lies shrouded in rain and snow?
As long as I live and the heavens glow,
Of this you can be sure and always know!…
I’ll take you with me everywhere I go.
 

Leave a Reply

